Just get it done!

It has been a very busy few days. I have done a number of things I wanted to do which I enjoyed, and several others I did not want to do but had to be done. And then on top of it all, I had to write a blog post!

I am new to blogging, but one thing I have learnt from reading other peoples blogs is that you do actually have to do it! Blog that is. If no new posts arrive for a week or two, readers drift away and find other blogs to read. Ones which actually have new content in them!

So I thought I would cheat and write an easy post, a quick one that wouldn’t take much time, but would still say what I wanted it to say and that other people would hopefully find interesting.

2 days later I am no further on. I have 4 new drafts in my ideas file and none of them are any good. In one of them I sound like Mrs Hitchman….a teacher I had at school who was given to handing out ‘good advice’ in all seasons and situations regardless of whether the advice was relevant or not. One of the others is full of drivel and in yet another I resorted to rampant plagiarism.

So what have I learnt from all this?

If you need to do something, often the simplest solution is to just do it. Don’t try to find an easy way out or it ends up like that short cut across the meadow. The one that turns out to pass through a hidden swamp. It is a snare and a delusion.

I have often found I can use up more time and energy avoiding doing something than actually doing it. Whilst this may sound like ‘going slow’, it isn’t. Wasting time is no part of slow living, and that is what I do. I waste time. I go and look at Wimp.com, or check out a few Youtube videos, or read a few blogs, or check out the online news. Anything rather than do what I should be doing. Actually that is not true. If I was prepared to do anything I might do something useful, like clean the bathroom, but no, I turn to my default position and waste time on the internet.

I need to just do the job, not try and cheat, do it the first time and do it properly. Then I can get on with the rest of my day.

So here is my blog post. Sort out what you need to do, get it done and then you are free to spend your time doing what you want to do.

Now I am off for a run on the beach. See you later.

This entry was posted in Slow Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

